Marriage License Information

  • The license is only valid for 30 days, and it is only valid for use in the state of Kentucky.
  • There are no blood tests required and there is no waiting period.
  • No marriage in Kentucky will be legally recognized without a valid marriage license.
  • The fee for this license is $35.50 and must be paid in our office.
  • Both parties must apply for this license together.
  • Both parties need to be 18 years of age or older.
  • Kentucky State Law no longer allows anyone under the age of 17 to obtain a marriage license.
  • Anyone age 17 wishing to obtain a marriage license MUST obtain a court order allowing them to do so.
  • When applying for the license, it is helpful to bring your driver's license, birth certificate, and/or Social Security card.
  • Both the bride and groom will be asked to provide the following.
    • Current address
    • Date of birth
    • County or city and State of birth
    • Mother's full maiden name
    • Father's full name
    • Marital condition, including the number of previous marriages
    • Occupation
    • Race
    • Sex
    • Relationship to one another
  • Both parties must appear together in person to apply for the license.